Free shipping to Greece, for orders over €14.50
Reader Satisfaction Guarantee
Order Online at 800 11 64 64 64


In this extraordinary drama-in-dialogue, Naguib Mahfouz reveals his love for all of Egypt's extensive history and his deep knowledge of it. In Before the Throne, he summons nearly sixty of Egypt's rulers to the afterlife Court of Osiris, from a king who unified Egypt for the first time, around 3000 BC, to a president assassinated by religious extremists in 1981. He includes names as familiar as the pharaoh Ramesses II and as obscure as the medieval vizier Qaraqush. Defending their behavior before the divine tribunal, those who acted for the nation's good are honored with immortality, but those who failed to protect it leave the gilded hall of eternal justice with a very different verdict. Full of Mahfouz's unique insight into his country's timeless qualities, this controversial work skillfully traces five thousand years of Egypt's past as it flows into the present, through the mind of its most acclaimed author.
More Information
Publication date Jul 30, 2012
Series Foreign literature
Age 18+
Translator Πέρσα Κουμούτση, ΚΟΥΜΟΥΤΣΗ ΠΕΡΣΑ
SKU 09221
Regular Price €12.77 Special Price €11.49
You earn 11 points
Available for download

Choose store

(ePUB for Windows and Android)

apple_store_purchase_img GET IT FROM iBOOKS

(ePUB for iOS)

Available for download. Instant delivery

View instructions for installing ebooks
Instant delivery
Customer Reviews
write your review
Write Your Own Review

Every review counts!

Tell us what you think about the product and earn 2 points!!

Log in or create an account to send your review and collect your points.

Terms of Use for Reviews
The Author
Ο ΝΑΓΚΙΜΠ ΜΑΧΦΟΥΖ γεννήθηκε το 1911 στο Κάιρο, στην πυκνοκατοικημένη συνοικία ελ Γκαμαλίγια, και πέθανε το 2006. Εργάστηκε στο δημόσιο μέχρι το 1972, οπότε και συνταξιοδοτήθηκε. Άρχισε να γράφει στα δεκαεφτά του και το πρώτο του μυθιστόρημα, που διαδραματίζεται στην αρχαία Αίγυπτο, εκδόθηκε το 1939. Από τότε έγραψε γύρω στα τριάντα μυθιστορήματα και περισσότερα από εκατό διηγήματα, πολλά από τα οποία έγιναν πετυχημένες ταινίες. Το 1988 η Σουηδική Ακαδημία Γραμμάτων τίμησε τον Μαχφούζ με το Νομπέλ Λογοτεχνίας για το σύνολο του έργου του, το οποίο χαρακτήρισε πλούσιο σε αποχρώσεις, άλλοτε απόλυτα ρεαλιστικό και άλλοτε υποβλητικό και αμφίσημο. Από τη γραφή του πατριάρχη της αραβικής λογοτεχνίας δε λείπουν το χιούμορ και η σάτιρα, ο λυρισμός και μαζί ο ρεαλισμός, που καθηλώνουν τον αναγνώστη. Τα βιβλία του έχουν μεταφραστεί σε περισσότερες από 25 γλώσσες. Από τις Εκδόσεις ΨΥΧΟΓΙΟΣ κυκλοφορούν με μεγάλη επιτυχία συνολικά 19 μυθιστορήματα του μεγάλου Άραβα συγγραφέα.
Copyright © 2021 Psichogios Publications. Designed & developed by Netsteps